Revolt and put down your pens

Pens

Last week in our Trinergy trainer seminar Roman Braun told the story of a little boy who asked, “Why does the moon make black light and the sun make blue light?”

Can you remember when you were very little and still completely naive about the workings of the universe? You know, when you were not yet tainted by the so-called facts. When you had no knowledgeable point-of-reference and were still asking ingenious questions.

And can you recall when it happened that the world ceased to appear undiscovered and you stopped seeing all the possibilities? You know, when most questions had been adequately answered and you decided there were only two or three ways of doing things anyway. When you became complacent and began getting the same predictable results – good and bad.

As a coach, one of my main premises when working with clients is this: If you keep on doing what you have always done, you will pretty much get the results you have always gotten. If you want something new, do something different.

Dr. Richard Bandler based NLP largely on this idea. He also said, “The greatest personal limitation is to be found not in the things you want to do and can’t, but in the things you have never considered doing.”

Last week my good friend and counterpart, Pat Medros, wrote a “work in progress” blog post in German, kicking off our “Do something different” (DSD) initiative. In it she paid tribute to “Dick” Fosbury, who did consider doing something he had never done before and, in doing so, revolutionized the high jump event. His idea: jump back-first instead of front-first (now a standard called the Fosbury Flop).

I am kicking off the “Do something different” initiative with my own very simple idea that you might want to try…

………………………………………………………………………………

DSD Idea Nr. 1: Revolt and put down your pens
I used to be a very detail-oriented note taker – in classes, in client meetings, etc. For the last three nine-day coaching and training seminars I attended, I decided to put down my pen and see what would happen. Here’s what I got:

  • Instead of stooping over my notes, I sat upright or leaned back into a relaxing position. This increased my field of vision and I became aware of the things happening around me and on-stage which I had been missing.
  • I couldn’t rely on reading my notes later, so I paid more attention and re-oriented from “learning later” to “learning now”.
  • That lead me to experimenting with visual memory techniques. One whole day I imagined a monkey running me through the process we had just been introduced to. What a trip!
  • My other senses kicked in and I began to unconsciously link information to things I had seen, heard or even tasted on that day. My knowledge of “pacing” is connected to an orange breathe mint I had in my mouth while listening to the trainer speak about pacing theory.
  • I realized I couldn’t miss a thing even if I had missed something. Because everyone around me wanted to talk about what they had or hadn’t understood . I was constantly getting new information and repetition from them.
  • Subjectively, I feel like I can comprehend and retain far more information –  compared to before with note taking.

………………………………………………………………………………

When is the next time you could put down your pen?
And what something new might you get?

Until we meet,
Shailia

Leave a Reply

